Translation & Interpretation Faculty

Regular Faculty

Christiane Abel

Assistant Professor & Program Coordinator French T & I

Office: Casa Fuente Building 300
Email: christiane.abel@miis.edu
Phone: 209.304.6197

Expertise: 

Translation and interpretation, both consecutive and simultaneous, interpreting traumatic events, international aid and development, interpreting for the information technology field

John Balcom

Professor

Office: McCone Building 105
Email: jbalcom@miis.edu
Phone: 831.647.4190

Expertise: 

Translation of Chinese and English

Chuanyun Bao

Professor

Office: Casa Fuente Building 300B
Email: cbao@miis.edu
Phone: 831.647.4172

Expertise: 

Simultaneous and consecutive interpretation and translation of Chinese and English

Laura Burian

Associate Professor

Office: McCone Building 205
Email: laura.burian@miis.edu
Phone: 831.647.3554

Expertise: 
Simultaneous and consecutive interpretation of Chinese and English, pedagogy for teaching simultaneous and consecutive interpretation.

Charles Cai

Assistant Professor

Office: 400 Pacific D202
Email: rcai@miis.edu
Phone: 831.647.3541

Expertise: 

Interpreting and translation of English and Chinese

Leire Carbonell-Aguero

Assistant Professor

Office: McCone Building 228
Email: lcarbonell@miis.edu
Phone: 831-647-4177

Expertise: 

Simultaneous and consecutive interpretation

Wallace Chen

Associate Professor & Program Coordinator Chinese T & I

Office: IIRC Building 3
Email: wallace.chen@miis.edu
Phone: 831.647.4167

Expertise: 

Interpreting and translation of English and Chinese, corpus-based translation studies

Yoonji Choi

Assistant Professor

Office: McCone Building 104
Email: yoonji.choi@miis.edu
Phone: 831.647.3549

Expertise: 

Translation, software localization, simultaneous and consecutive interpretation of Korean and English

Marsha Man-Hua Chou

Associate Professor

Office: IIRC Building 4
Email: mchou@miis.edu
Phone: 831.647.4170

Expertise: 

Simultaneous and consecutive interpretation

María Sierra Córdoba Serrano

Associate Professor

Office: McCone Building 109
Email: mcordobaserrano@miis.edu
Phone: 831.647.4609

Expertise: 

Translation and revision from English and French into Spanish; sociology of translation.

Michael Gillen

Professor

Office: McCone Building 102B
Email: mgillen@miis.edu
Phone: 831.647.4192

Expertise: 

Translation of Russian-language scientific and technical publications, particularly materials science and engineering; integration of translation technology into translation curricula

Jacolyn Harmer

Professor

Office: IIRC Building 8
Email: jharmer@miis.edu
Phone: 831.647.4604

Expertise: 

Simultaneous and consecutive interpretation and translation of German, French, Spanish into English; interpreter pedagogy

Andrea Hofmann-Miller

Assistant Professor & Program Coordinator German T & I

Office: McCone Building 234
Email: ahofmann@miis.edu
Phone: 831.647.3527

Expertise: 

Simultaneous and consecutive interpretation and translation of German and English

Julie Johnson

Associate Professor

Office: McCone Building 123
Email: jjohnson@miis.edu
Phone: 831.647.3089

Expertise: 

Translation and simultaneous and consecutive interpretation of French and English

Rosa Kavenoki

Professor, Program Coordinator Russian T & I

Office: IIRC Building 6
Email: rkavenoki@miis.edu
Phone: 831.647.3515

Expertise: 

Translation and simultaneous and consecutive interpretation in the Russian-English combination

Consulting on T&I quality assessment issues, intercultural communication and related matters

Minhua Liu

Associate Professor

Office: McCone Buidling 126
Email: minhual@miis.edu
Phone: 831.647.4611

Expertise: 

Interpreting: Consecutive and simultaneous interpreting of English and Mandarin

Academic: Cognitive aspects of interpreting, assessment and testing in interpreting, research methodology in translation and interpreting

Holly Mikkelson

Associate Professor

Office: McCone Building 221
Email: hmikkelson@miis.edu
Phone: 831.647.6432

Expertise: 

Translation and interpretation of Spanish and English, court and medical interpreting

Barry Slaughter Olsen

Associate Professor

Office: IIRC Building 5
Email: barry.olsen@miis.edu
Phone: 831.647.4628

Expertise: 

Simultaneous and consecutive interpretation, interpreter training and education, multilingual negotiations, political and diplomatic discourse, and interpreting and technology.

Tanya Fumiko Pound

Assistant Professor

Office: McCone Building 108
Email: tanya.pound@miis.edu
Phone: 831.647.4189

Expertise: 

Translation of Japanese and English

Hideko Russell

Assistant Professor and Program Coordinator Japanese T & I

Office: McCone Building 122
Email: hrussell@miis.edu
Phone: 831.647.4187

Expertise: 

Translation of Japanese and English

Cas Shulman-Mora

Assistant Professor & Program Coordinator Spanish T & I

Office: McCone Building 103
Email: cshulmanmora@miis.edu
Phone: 831.647.4161

Expertise: 

Translation and Interpretation between Spanish and English.

Miryoung Sohn

Associate Professor & Program Coordinator Korean T & I

Office: McCone Building 106
Email: miryoung.sohn@miis.edu
Phone: 831.647.3552

Expertise: 

Simultaneous and consecutive interpretation and translation of Korean and English

Max Troyer

Assistant Professor and Program Chair, Translation & Localization Management

Office: 400 Pacific D206
Email: mtroyer@miis.edu
Phone: 831.647.6422

Expertise: 

Project management, translation process and workflow consulting, multilingual desktop publishing, multilingual websites, software localization, localization engineering and translation software training.

Zinan Ye

Professor

Office: McCone Building 237
Email: zinan.ye@miis.edu
Phone: 831.647.4160

Expertise: 

English-Chinese translation, especially in areas of humanities and social sciences.Other expertise includes translation pedagogy, cognitive metaphor and translation, and translation theory.

Visiting Faculty

Cory Blandford

Visiting Professor

Office: McCone 231
Email: cblandford@miis.edu
Phone: 831.647.3540

Expertise: 

Simultaneous and consecutive interpretation of Japanese and English, translation from Japanese to English

Masaomi Kondo

Visiting Professor

Office: McCone Building 227
Email: mkondo@miis.edu
Phone: 831.647.3540

Expertise: 

English teaching, interpreting theories, economic history of Japan and of the West, and developing economics

Sieun Lee

Visiting Professor

Office: McCone 229
Email: sieunl@miis.edu
Phone: 831.647.6636

Expertise: 

Translation, simultaneous & consecutive interpretation of Korean and English

Adjunct Faculty

Chris Erskine

Adjunct Faculty

Email: jerskine@miis.edu
Phone: 831.647.4185

Expertise: 

Freelance English translator specializing in banking and finance. Responsibilities include trans­lation and editing of financial and ec­o­nomic texts: investor relations materials of all kinds including corporate, sectoral, and macroeconomic analyses for investment markets as well as quarterly and annual reports and many other text types in the banking business. Also widely experienced in German-English translation of advertising, marketing, and public relations materials and in legal and commercial texts.

Andrei G. Falaleyev

Adjunct Faculty

Office: McCone Building
Email: afalaley@miis.edu
Phone: 831.647.4170

Expertise: 

Simultaneous and consecutive interpretation and translation of Russian and English

Cyril Flerov

Adjunct Faculty

Email: cyrilf@att.net
Phone: 831.647.4185

Expertise: 

Simultaneous and consecutive interpretation between Russian and English.

Specialty topics include aerospace industry, nuclear industry, environment, engineering, computers, oil and gas industry, mass media, law, politics and economics.

Mr. Flerov is experienced in teaching simultaneous and consecutive interpretation at undergraduate and graduate levels both in the United States and Russia.

Michael Jacobs

Adjunct Faculty

Office: McCone Building
Email: mjacobs@miis.edu
Phone: 831.647.7105

Expertise: 

Dialects, voice, and diction

Kang Liao

Adjunct Faculty

Office: McCone Building
Email: kliao@miis.edu
Phone: 831.647.4170

Expertise: 

American literature (Pearl S. Buck), translation of English and Chinese, and telephonic interpretation

Joseph McClinton

Adjunct Faculty

Office: McCone Building
Email: jmcclinton@miis.edu
Phone: 831.647.6511

Expertise: 

Translation of German and English

Esther Navarro-Hall

Adjunct Faculty

Office: McCone 227
Email: enavarro@miis.edu
Phone: 831.647.4177

Expertise: 

Conference, Corporate, Court, Medical, and Community Interpreting

Conrado Portugal

Adjunct Faculty

Office: McCone 228
Email: cportugal@miis.edu
Phone: 831-647-4177

Expertise: 

Simultaneous and consecutive interpreting: English, French, German into Spanish

Professor Portugal has been working as a freelance conference interpreter and organizing teams of conference interpreters for the last 12 years, mostly in northern Europe: Germany, the Netherlands and Scandinavia.

Cristina Silva

Adjunct Faculty

Email: csilva@miis.edu
Phone: 831-647-4182

Kate Walker

Adjunct Faculty

Email: katherin@miis.edu

Expertise: 

Business and legal translation and conference interpretation from French and German into English

Wilhelm Weber

Adjunct Faculty

Email: wweber@miis.edu
Phone: 831.647.4185

Expertise: 

Prof. Weber has worked in all sectors of the interpreting market (international organizations, including the United Nations and the EU, foreign ministries, summits of heads of state and government, and conventions) in Europe, the USA, Asia, and Latin America. He is also known as chief interpreter of seven Olympic Games.

From 1978 to 1992 he was Dean of what is now the GSTILE.