Business Faculty

Regular Faculty

Canri Chan

Professor of Accounting

Office: McCone Building, Room 218
Email: canri.chan@miis.edu
Phone: 831.647.6501

Expertise: 

Financial accounting, management accounting, international accounting, and financial statement analysis.

Eddine Dahel

Associate Professor

Office: McCone Building
Email: edahel@miis.edu
Phone: 831.647.4602

Expertise: 

International supply chain management, logistics, management science, operations management

Sandra M. Dow

Professor of International Finance and Fisher International MBA Program Chair

Office: McCone 211
Email: sandra.dow@miis.edu
Phone: 831.647.4187

Expertise: 

Corporate Governance; International Finance; Environmental, Social, and Governance Risk Management (ESG)

Kent Glenzer

Associate Professor (MPA/MBA)

Office: McCone 114
Email: kglenzer@miis.edu
Phone: 831.647.4149

Expertise: 

I have extensive work and research experience in sub-Saharan Africa, having lived there for 13 years and focused on it as both an external and internal consultant to NGOs and public sector agencies for 10 more years.   I specialize in organizations, organizational development, organizational behavior and culture, institutional and organizational fields, and organizational evolution and learning processes.  All my work and thinking centralizes the power dynamics, inequalities, and identity politics that surround and constitute development projects, programs, and strategies.  I have proven managerial and leadership competencies, and this understanding of how theory, big ideas, “best practice” and innovation actually get refracted through pragmatic choices of the working professional is perhaps the highest value I bring to my work with students.   Related to this is experience in program and organizational monitoring, evaluation, and learning systems, performance management, strategic planning, and social, cultural, and political economic analysis.   Finally, I have a strong background, both practically and academically, in civil society, social movements, and policy advocacy.

Fredric Kropp

Professor

Office: 116 McCone
Email: fredric.kropp@miis.edu
Phone: 831.647.6684

Expertise: 

Entrepreneurship, Social Entrepreneurship, Emerging Business Success Factors, International Marketing Research and Strategies, Creativity and Innovation, Cross-cultural Consumer Behavior

Ernest J. Scalberg

Research Professor and Director of the GLOBE Center

Office: Casa Fuente Building
Email: escalberg@miis.edu
Phone: 831.647.4148

Expertise: 

Globalization/localization of products and services, global leadership, leadership development, organizational behavior

Ron Schill

Visiting Professor of International Management

Office: Casa Fuente 300C
Email: rschill@miis.edu
Phone: (831) 647-6683

Expertise: 

Marketing feasibility and market opportunity analysis, enterprise scale-up, international marketing plans, country market selection and market entry, regional and global expansion; frontier and emerging market social impact and business enterprise decisions, enterprise development, and marketing programs; marketing and sourcing decisions and relationships between business enterprises; marketing negotiations; international strategic partnerships; the interface between marketing and corporate competitive strategy; global marketing strategies; socially and environmentally responsible marketing programs; MBA core principles of marketing and brand management.

Gireesh Shrimali

Assistant Professor, Energy Economics and Business

Office: McGowan 320C
Email: gshrimali@miis.edu
Phone: 831-647-4159

Expertise: 

Economics, Policy, and Busines of Energy, Environment, and Sustainable Development

Lyuba Zarsky

Associate Professor

Office: McGowan 320B
Email: Lyuba.Zarsky@miis.edu
Phone: 831.647.6436

Expertise: 

Sustainable development, business and sustainability, foreign direct investment and the environment, collaborative governance, development economics, global environmental governance. 

Video interview of Dr. Zarsky

Visiting Faculty

Thomas Hout

Visiting Professor

Office: McCone M118
Email: thout@miis.edu
Phone: 831.647.3550 x8210

Expertise: 

Corporate strategy; International business competition at firm and country levels;  Operations link to strategy; China and Japan

Adjunct Faculty

Dr. Peter Robertson

Expertise: 

Leadership, organizational growth strategies, organizational assessment, business ecology

Jay Badenhope

Adjunct Professor

Email: jbadenhope@miis.edu

Expertise: 

Business, small business, systems integration

Monica Bray, Ph.D.

Adjunct Professor

Email: mbray@miis.edu
Phone: 831.647.4155

Expertise: 

Economics, Finance, Strategy, Wealth Management

Paul Breloff

Founder and Managing Director, Accion Venture Lab

Expertise: 

Paul Breloff founded and manages Venture Lab, an accion-sponsored seed stage investment initiative focused on the world’s most innovative financial inclusion startups.

He conceived, built and lead all facets of global seed investment and portfolio management activities for Venture Lab, having sourced, analyzed and negotiated investments in India, Kenya, Mexico, Indonesia, Hong Kong, and the U.S. Has has also secured funding partnerships from Rockefeller Foundation, Gates Foundation, and CGAP, and advisory relationships with a range of other leaders in the financial inclusion space.

William Brooks

Adjunct Professor

Office: McGowan Building
Email: wbrooks@miis.edu
Phone: 831.647.4140

Expertise: 

Cross border leadership and management, leadership development, management of product development, operations management, strategic planning

Philip S Carmichael

Adjunct Professor

Office: GSIPM
Email: pscarmichael@hotmail.com
Phone: 831.647.4155

Expertise: 

China-US business issues

Vassilis Dalakas

Adjunct Professor

Email: vdalakas@csusm.edu

Expertise: 

Advertising, cross cultural consumer behavior, international marketing, marketing communications

Miguel Granier

Founder and Managing Director, Invested Development

Expertise: 

Miguel is the Founder and Managing Director of Invested Development which launched in July 2009. Before founding Invested Development, he was the founding Investment Manager for First Light Ventures, a seed-stage social impact investment fund affiliated with Gray Ghost Ventures in Atlanta, Georgia.

Brooke Higgins

Adjunct Professor

Office: McCone 118, 460 Pierce St
Email: bhiggins@miis.edu
Phone: 831.647.4155

Expertise: 

Brooke Higgins has balanced a career in education, marketing and entrepreneurship with over 15 years of experience as an educator and over 10 years as both a marketing manager and entrepreneur. Brooke started his career as a teacher in the inner city of Chicago in 1996. After moving to Santiago, Chile, Brooke co-founded and managed all sales and marketing efforts for Job Express, a classified advertising publication focused on employment. Brooke later received his MBA in International Managment with a specialization in Marketing from the Monterey Institute of International Studies. Thereafter, he joined the marketing team at HSBC Card and Retail Services in Salinas, CA. During his studies, Brooke founded, marketed and managed CROSSWALK Educational Services, a boutique tutoring agency which continues to serve the Monterey Peninsula. Brooke later became a franchisor in 2007 with Smoothie King #776 and then served as Brand Marketing Manager with Discount School Supply. Brooke returned to the classroom full time in 2011 but continues to serve as a marketing consultant for small businesses. He started teaching marketing in 2011 and continues to teach marketing management at the Monterey Institute of International Studies.

Hugh McAllister

Adjunct Professor

Email: hmcalli224@aol.com

Expertise: 

Corporate finance, foreign direct investment, international capital markets, international finance

Lynn Metcalf

Adjunct Professor

Email: lmetcalf@calpoly.edu

Expertise: 

International marketing

Christer Mossberg

Adjunct Professor

Email: christer.mossberg@sablaw.com

Expertise: 

Trade and trade agreements

Bruce Paton

Adjunct Professor

Email: bruce.paton@miis.edu
Phone: 831.647.4149

Expertise: 

Sustainable business, corporate social responsibility, global business strategy, social and environmental issues in management.

Ryan D. Schill

Adjunct Professor

Office: McCone
Email: rdschill@miis.edu
Phone: 801-592-6080

Expertise: 

Marketing, Consumer Behavior, Behavioral Economics, Entrepreneurial Finance, Investments, Entrepreneurship, Creativity Management and Social Impact Innovation

Luc Soenen

Adjunct Professor

Expertise: 

Corporate finance, foreign exchange management, international capital markets, international finance

Cynthia Wagner-Weick

Adjunct Professor

Email: cwagner@pacific.edu

Expertise: 

Product innovation, strategic planning, technology management, international market entry strategy, commercial development of biotechnology

Eli Zelkha

Adjunct Professor

Office: McCone Building
Email: eli.zelkha@miis.edu

Expertise: 

Venture capital, corporate strategy, art of failure, start-ups, entrepreneurship, mergers & acquisitions, technology.

Faculty Emeritus

John R.G. Jenkins

Professor Emeritus

Email: jjenkins@miis.edu

Expertise: 

Business in Pacific Rim countries, entrepreneurship, international marketing, marketing communications

Steve Landry

Professor Emeritus

Office: McGowan Building
Email: steve.landry@miis.edu
Phone: 831.647.6407

Expertise: 

Cost accounting, financial and management accounting, financial auditing, government and non-profit accounting

David Roberts

Professor Emeritus

Office: McGowan Building
Email: droberts@miis.edu
Phone: 831.647.4156

Expertise: 

Economic theory, modeling and forecasting, monetary policy