Middlebury Institute of International Studies at Monterey

2016

SILP by the Numbers

August 1 - August 6

Monday, August 1

Spanish SILP: Movie and pizza

Arabic SILP: Game Night

Tuesday, August 2

French SILP: Karoke night

French SILP: Monterey Aquarium Tour

Russian SILP: Lunch and Conversation: Beginner Focus

Chinese SILP: Movie night: Saving Mr. Wu

Arabic SILP: Calligraphy

Wednesday August 3

Arabic SILP: Coffee Hour with Professor Berrahmoun

Thursday, August 4

French SILP: Table Française

ESL & EPGS: Symposium!

Friday, August 5

All Programs: End-of-Summer Potluck

Chinese SILP: Dialects Workshop

Saturday, August 6

EPGS: Salsa dancing

July 25 - July 30

Monday, July 25

Arabic SILP: Cultural Exposition

Spanish SILP: Cata de Vinos (Wine tasting)

Tuesday, July 26

Chinese SILP: Cultural Exposition

Russian SILP: Lunch and Conversation: Beginner Focus

Wednesday, July 27

French SILP: Cultural Exposition

Thursday, July 28

Russian SILP: Cultural Exposition

Friday, July 29

Spanish SILP: Cultural Exposition

Arabic SILP: Arabic Ted Talks by students

All Programs: Photo Contest!

Saturday, July 30

Spanish SILP: Monterey State Historic Park Tour

Students doing activities of games, henna, calligraphy, cooking

July 17 - July 23

Monday, July 18

ALL: Ping Pong Tournament

Tuesday, July 19

French SILP: Table Française

Russian SILP: Lunch and Conversation: Beginner Focus

Spanish SILP: Beginner Salsa and Bachata Lessons

Wednesday, July 20

Russian SILP: Movie night: Viy

Thursday, July 21

French SILP: Movie night: Sambene

Russian SILP: Lunch and Conversation: Intermediate Focus

Friday, July 22

Chinese SILP: Chinese cuisine cooking workshop

Russian SILP: Russian Waltz class

All Programs: Photo Contest!

Saturday, July 23

Arabic SILP: Hiking and Potluck (with native Arabic speakers) in Point Lobos

ESL: Movie Night

EPGS: Glass bottom boat ride

Students Hiking Monterey Bay

July 11 - July 16

Monday, July 11

Arabic SILP: Arabic Spelling Bee

Tuesday, July 12

Spanish SILP: Spanish board game night

Wednesday, July 13

Arabic SILP: Coffee and Tea Hour with Professor Berrahmoun

French SILP: Wine tasting in French

Thursday, July 14

Chinese SILP: Tongue twister competition and dialects workshop

Spanish SILP: Movie night

Friday, July 15

French SILP: Lunch at French bakery, Parker-Lusseau

All Programs: Photo Contest!

Saturday, July 16

Arabic SILP: Hiking and Potluck (with native Arabic speakers) in Point Lobos

ESL: Movie Night

EPGS: Biking on the Bay

Students biking, in class, and at the bay

July 4 - July 9

Monday, July 4

ESL: 4th of July Parade and Monterey festivities

Tuesday, July 5

Spanish SILP: Karoke night

Wednesday, July 6

All SILP: CIA Info Session

Thursday, July 7

Arabic SILP: Iftar and Arabic calligraphy

French SILP: Table Française/goûter (normal table française + French cheeses and drinks, music)

Saturday, July 9

Spanish SILP: Royal Presidio Chapel Tour

Chinese SILP: San Francisco Chinatown trip

EPGS: Nature hike in Point Lobos

Students visiting Chinatown, hiking, at the museum of Russian culture and at a BBQ

June 28 - July 2

Tuesday, June 28

French SILP: Lunch at Crêpes of Brittanie

Russian SILP: Movie night-- Tangerines

Spanish SILP: Salsa dancing night

Wednesday, June 29:

Chinese SILP: Tea Break

French SILP: Table Française (open to all francophones)

Thursday, June 30:

ESL: Game night

French SILP: Boules on the wharf

Friday, July 1:

Chinese SILP: Mahjong

Russian SILP: Borsch making

Saturday, July 2:

EPGS: Movie Night

Russian SILP: Pavel's bakery trip

Students at a restaurant, dancing, board game, group photo

June 20 - June 25

Monday, June 20:

Intensive ESL and EPGS Orientation

Tuesday, June 21:

Spanish SILP: Copa América Viewing Party (USA v. Argentina)

French SILP: Fête de la Musique

Wednesday, June 22:

Everyone: Silent Meditation

French SILP: Table Française (open to all francophones)

Russian SILP: Guest speaker-- John Simeone from Simeone Consulting

Thursday, June 23:

Arabic SILP: Movie night-- Assal Eswed

Spanish SILP: Movie night-- Relatos Salvajes

Friday, June 24:

Chinese SILP: Chinese Calligraphy Workshop

Everyone: Pizza and Trivia Night!

Saturday, June 25:

Russian SILP: Russian pirozhki cooking class

EPGS: Monterey Museum of Art

Students having pizza, at the Monterey Museum of Art, social at cafeteria, calligraphy

June 16 - June 18

SILP Orientation Highlights:

Thursday, June 16: Arrival Check-In and Welcome Center with local business vendors

Friday, June 17: Photo Scavenger Hunt

Welcoming Students with food, a speaker, and trip to the Monterey Bay Aquarium