Language Studies Faculty

Regular Faculty

Mahmoud I. Abdalla

Associate Professor

Office: IIRC Building 7
Email: mabdalla@miis.edu
Phone: 831.647.4607

Expertise: 

Arabic language, Arab culture and media, linguistics, second language acquisition, language culture and identity.

Abdelkader Berrahmoun

Assistant Professor

Office: IIRC Building 2
Email: aberrahmoun@miis.edu
Phone: 831-647-6500

Expertise: 

Pedagogy of language acquisition, integration of technology and cultural studies into the language curriculum, conflict and peace in the MENA (Middle East-North Africa) region, the history of colonialism and its aftermath in North Africa, socio-political and economic roots of popular uprisings in the Arab world, and political Islam

Kelley Calvert

Assistant Professor & Writing Center Director

Office: Simoneau House
Email: kelley.calvert@miis.edu
Phone: 831.647.4194

Expertise: 

Advanced Research Writing, Editing Writing, English conversation skills, grammar, rhetoric and composition skills

Edgard Coly

Assistant Professor

Office: McCone Building 226
Email: ecoly@miis.edu
Phone: 831.647.3506

Expertise: 

African politics and cultures, Africa in the arena of globalization, contemporary France, Francophone literature, twentieth century French literature, postmodernism and postcolonial theory

Jinhuei Enya Dai

Associate Professor

Office: McCone Building 107
Email: jinhuei.dai@miis.edu
Phone: 831.647.6570

Expertise: 

Cognitive linguistics, Chinese cognitive linguistics, Chinese as a heritage language, Chinese and Taiwanese popular culture, linguistic anthropology, and interactive blogging

Michel Gueldry

Professor

Office: McCone Building 225
Email: michel.gueldry@miis.edu
Phone: 831.647.3508

Expertise: 

French politics, business and history, French language, cinema and civilization; Western Europe; European Union, European integration, transatlantic relations, language pedagogy and content-based instruction (Monterey Model), sustainability studies (in connection with business, international relations and cultural/psychological forces)

Gabriel Guillén

Assistant Professor

Office: 400 Pacific D207
Email: gaguillen@miis.edu
Phone: (831)-647-3085

Expertise: 

My main area of expertise is second language development & technology. In particular, my dissertation focuses on Language Learning Social Networks (LLSNs) and the interchange of languages as part of the curriculum. In this field I like to see myself not only as a researcher but also as a practitioner, relentlessly willing to improve and develop spaces and resources for open online language learning. Other areas of research and professional experience include journalism, study abroad, web development, sociolinguistics, and film studies. 

María Jesús Iglesias-Barca

Lecturer

Office: McCone Building 125
Email: miglesiasbarca@miis.edu
Phone: 831.647.6500

Expertise: 

Spanish grammar and composition, Spanish advanced conversation

Rana Issa

Lecturer

Office: McCone Building 235
Email: rissa@miis.edu
Phone: 831.647.4601

Expertise: 

Arabic language, Arabic culture

Lisa Leopold

Associate Professor

Office: IIRC Building 9
Email: lisa.leopold@miis.edu
Phone: 831.647.3599

Expertise: 

English for academic purposes

Naoko Matsuo

Assistant Professor/Language Studies Advisor

Office: McCone Building 222
Email: nmatsuo@miis.edu
Phone: 831.647.3512

Expertise: 

Japanese language and culture, pedagogy, Japanese for business, current issues in Japanese media

Sabino Morera

Assistant Professor

Office: McGowan Building 200B
Email: smorera@miis.edu
Phone: 831.647.6662

Expertise: 

Spanish-English translation, English and Spanish linguistics, Language and Translation Pedagogy

Pablo Oliva

Assistant Professor

Office: IIRC Building
Email: pablo.oliva@miis.edu
Phone: 831.647.4173

Expertise: 

Spanish language and culture, Latin American culture and society, language teaching pedagogy, second language acquisition (SLA), curriculum design

Anna Vassilieva

Professor

Office: McGowan Building 200A
Email: avassilieva@miis.edu
Phone: 831.647.3546

Expertise: 

Contemporary Russian politics, Russian politics in Central Asia, Russian culture and society, Siberia, Russians in Japan.

Dr. Vassilieva interviewed on PBS's NewHour

Adjunct Faculty

Sean Curran

Adjunct Faculty

Office: McCone Cubicle 8
Email: scurran@miis.edu
Phone: (831)-647-4185

Expertise: 

I have completed postgraduate studies in didactics and linguistics in the Spanish Basque Country. I currently teach content-based Spanish language classes related to social justice, history, Latin American history, US-Latin American policy, international trade, economics, and international relations. I learned to speak Spanish and Basque fluently while living in Spain and teaching ESL(English as a Second Language).  Because of my strong belief in both grammar fundamentals and immersion, I also lived and worked in Puerto Rico and Chile--where my love for the ocean and Spanish combined beautifully.