Middlebury Institute of International Studies at Monterey

The James Martin Center for Nonproliferation Studies Advisory Council supports the mission of the James Martin Center for Nonproliferation Studies (CNS) to combat the spread of weapons of mass destruction by training the next generation of nonproliferation specialists and disseminating timely information and analysis.

The Center is closely associated with the Institute’s nonproliferation and terrorism studies program, which integrates policy analysis, international security, science and technology, and history to prepare students for professional careers dealing with the threats posed by violent extremism and nuclear, biological and chemical weapons.  

The James Martin Center for Nonproliferation Studies Advisory Council consists of leaders and professionals in fields related to the Center’s mission. Advisory Council support for the Center will include:

  • Participation in Council meetings
  • Continuous guidance and communications with the director, academic leaders, and students regarding teaching, learning, research, and career opportunities
  • Enrichment opportunities for current students (seminars, guest speakers, internships)
  • Availability to provide expertise on a variety of matters pertaining to the Center and the broader Institute

Advisory Council Members

  • Mr. Urban Ahlin
  • Dr. Alexei Arbatov
  • Congressman Howard Berman (Ret., D-California)
  • Mr. Kevin J. Cuddy
  • Dr. Jeff Dayton-Johnson 
  • Ambassador Jayantha Dhanapala
  • Dr. Gloria Duffy
  • Ambassador Rolf Ekéus
  • Representative Sam Farr
  • Ms. Rosemarie Forsythe
  • Dr. David Hamburg
  • The Honorable John Holum
  • Ms. Gretchen Hund
  • Professor Russell Leng
  • Senator Richard Lugar (Ret., R-Indiana)
  • Mr. Cary Neiman
  • Senator Sam Nunn (Ret., D-Georgia)
  • Dr. Edward J. Shanahan
  • The Honorable Ellen O. Tauscher